2017 Inception Award Winners

In 2014 IDEA introduced the Inception Award to acknowledge excellence in the advancement of interior design / interior architecture education. The competition is limited to Interior Design / Interior Architecture / Spatial Design students of the 11 member institutions of IDEA. This year IDEA solely invites students currently in their 4th year of education in interior architecture, interior design or spatial design.

The work is judged on the following three criteria:

  • Best interior proposition.
  • best visual representation. Keywords: evocative, composition, craftsmanship
  • best comprehensive work of text with drawings

With the reward of a first Gold prize of A$650 and a second Silver prize of A$350 for their distinctive contribution to the discipline.

Gold winner

Mandy Gioh, The Change Room, Monash University

Silver Winner

Miranda Geiger, Informality, Curtin University

Highly Commended

Award Student Name Project Name University
Brad Wyatt A Seat at our Table VUW
Chelsea Harrison Introspection of the Edge Curtin
Highly Commended Hannah Watt Balneum UTS
Jordan Darin FACC UTS
Keegan Davis Future Housing VUW
Laura Ng The Human Machine UNSW
Liam Carroll An Autonomous Report Massey
Gold Mandy Gioh The Change Room Monash
Silver Miranda Geiger Informality Curtin
Natalie Anne Johns Respite from Modernity QUT
Nicky Bibo Hydroterrium Monash
Roseanna Funnell House of the People QUT
Sarah Harkness Fort Lane Bath House AUT
Zoe Schoeller-Burke The Parasite Massey