2015 Inception Award Winners

In 2014 IDEA introduced the Inception Award to acknowledge excellence in the advancement of interior design / interior architecture education. The competition is limited to Interior Design / Interior Architecture / Spatial Design students of the 12 member institutions of IDEA. This year IDEA solely invites students currently in their final year of education in interior architecture, interior design or spatial design.

The work is judged on the following three criteria:

  • Best interior proposition.
  • best visual representation. Keywords: evocative, composition, craftsmanship
  • best comprehensive work of text with drawings

With the reward of a first Gold prize of A$650 and a second Silver prize of A$350 for their distinctive contribution to the discipline.


Gold winner

Laura Casey from RMIT
Rearranging Place, an exploration into the relationship between space and place



Silver Winner

Lucy Williams from UNSW
Earth- en Oceanic, White Bay Power Station

03_Earth- en Oceanic_UNSW0


Gabrielle Livermore University of Tasmania
Anna Manson AUT
Jackson Hexin Bi RMIT
A Tran University of South Australia
Lisa Cohen UNSW
Swinburne University of Technology
Skye Peterson Queensland University of Technology
S Hayes University of South Australia
Sumaiya Abdul Rahman Victoria University of Wellington
Jasmine Cho Monash University
Alanah McCormick Victoria University of Wellington
Bryanna Hanacek University of Tasmania
Natalie Bornyan Monash University
Jessica Kennedy Curtin University
Jack Stephenson Massey University
Eden Ranelli Curtin University
Dani Cunningham & Geo Chong Massey University
Haidee Vogel UTS